SFU Works

Because We Do!

Local 3338 of the Canadian Union of Public Employees represents over 1200 workers, mainly at SFU campuses. Our diverse membership is spread among 7 Bargaining Units, with 7 different employers.

Surrey Librarians vote to join CUPE

Written by Communications chair. Posted in Labour Updates, News

SURREY – Professional Librarians at Surrey Public Library have voted to become CUPE members in a Labour Board vote held on Wednesday.

Issues important to professional librarians included organizational change that impacts services to the public and having a voice at work.

“We warmly welcome professional librarians to our union, especially since October is National Library month” said Sub-local Chair, Denise Parks. “We look forward to representing them in the same robust, effective and innovative way we’ve represented all our members for the past 35 years.”

The 48 professional librarians will join 180 members who work at the Surrey Public Library. They will be members of CUPE 402-02, the Libraries unit of CUPE 402. CUPE now represents all public library workers in the Lower Mainland.

“Public libraries are incredibly valuable to all of our communities and it makes me proud to stand up for this important public service,” said CUPE 402 President, Jeannie Kilby.

COPE 491

2018 Annual General Meeting Reminder

Written by Communications chair. Posted in Annual General Meeting, Meetings

Agenda for Annual General Meeting to be followed by the Fall Social

November 22, 2018 @ 4:30 p.m. Halpern 126 (Burnaby Mountain)

1. Call to order & Territory Acknowledgement

2. Approval of the Agenda

3. Previous year’s minutes – Nov 22, 2017

4. Executive Board Report

5. Trustees’ Audit Report

6. Treasurer’s Report – presentation of the budget for 2019

7. Ratify the election of the local officers for the new term: Dec. 1, 2019 through to Dec. 31, 2020.

The newly elected officers are:

  • Fiona Brady Lenfesty, President
  • Juliet De Pieri, 1st Vice President
  • Dawn Smaill, 2nd Vice President
  • Jeanette Ordonez, Secretary-Treasurer
  • Han Tjandra, Member-at-Large

8. New business

9. Solidarity Draw

10. Adjournment